All about us
A & E Longhurst is located in the village of Ewell. In 2005, in the TV program ‘The Best and Worst Of’, Epsom and Ewell was rated as the most desirable place to live in the United Kingdom.
Set in a picturesque location, the Hogsmill River, a tributary of the River Thames, runs directly behind the funeral home.
A & E Longhurst is situated on Kingston Road, which is the bottom of what is known locally as Beggars Hill. A coaching Inn with stables was situated immediately opposite, although this has now become the Eight Bells public house, where beggars used to line the hill begging from the coaches on their way to and from London.
“The name Longhurst has been in the area since 1824. A Harold Longhurst and James English opened undertakers in Epsom in 1935. A Harrison and Stanley Longhurst also ran an undertakers and timber merchant.”
Edwin Longhurst established a timber factory in 1891 on Kingston Road, where his two sons, Alfred and Ewart, started undertaking.
Sadly, the timber factory burnt down to the ground in 1938 although Alfred and Ewart Longhurst Funeral Directors survived and remained in the Longhurst family until the mid 1990’s when it was sold.
The premises were in such a poor state of repair that after initially refurbishing, a new purpose built building was opened in 2006.
The new modern building incorporates mortuary facilities, two arranging rooms and three Chapels of Rest. The name A & E Longhurst still remains above the door.
The Chapels are named Ophelia, Horatio and Marcellus, after characters from the play Hamlet by William Shakespeare. John Millais painted the famous illustration “The Death of Ophelia”, whilst he lived in Ewell, using the Hogsmill river as the backdrop..
“A & E Longhurst now serves the local community, working in conjunction with local Churches to provide professional and personal funerals for families in their time of need.”